DVR PULLED

Repairing Hitachi HDDs.
User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:14 pm

Ok.

I have the solution for the F3 arch Seagate as I've just unlocked a Pipeline HD .2 "locked" by a DVR player, and also have the solution for the older Seagates (prior to F3 arch).

I will provide some hints :

- Prior to F3 drives are locked with ATA password but the security subsystem is disabled in stuff, the main problem with this type of locked drive is the "wrong stuff" data on vendor track. Re-Setting the drive ID with PC-3000 UDMA will do the trick (unlocked 3 different Seagates this way - they had a Humax sticker on them).

- On F3 arch drives you can remove PCB and insulate heads. Then spin down, remove insulation and spin up, like in BSY solution. Now you remove password using something like STCom or PC-3000 UDMA. Removing the password without preventing SA from loading will fail. Now you regen the translator with the correct command (NOT the standard internet fix one). Drive will be unlocked.

For now I will not share the full solution, but I'm willing to unlock the Seagate drives by request, but the drive have to be shipped to my residence.

:)
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

xsoliman
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:10 pm

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby xsoliman » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:28 pm

So how does the DVR itself unlock the drives ?

Or does normal ATA unlock work (if you know the password) but it is just not visible that the bare drive is locked

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:33 pm

xsoliman wrote:So how does the DVR itself unlock the drives ?

Or does normal ATA unlock work (if you know the password) but it is just not visible that the bare drive is locked


I don't know how the DVR unlock the drive as I don't have the DVR itself.

But I do know that it's not by ATA password.

The drives (3 old seagate prior to F3) had indeed a ATA password set and had indeed the same master password and different user passwords, but despite that the bit was set to "turn on" password, the security feature was disabled in stuff/vendor, so the ATA password was "disabled" like "inactive" because of that.

By fixing the "stuff" or the vendor track to the correct HDD ID data you get the drive to work ok with disabled security features. Only if you enable security on stuff you will then need to deal with the ATA password :)

Very coolllll stuff !

I'm learning allot by experimenting.
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:47 pm

My samples :

All pulled from DVD.
All have a "Humax" sticker.
All pulled from different DVR machines as this is a sample from a HUGEEEE pool of drives :

DB35.2 (in fact an TONKA2)

352.jpg


DB35.3 (in fact an NHAWK)

353.jpg


U Series 9 (in fact an ALPINE)

u9.jpg


All of the drives have the password bit that turns it on set to 01 and the Master password is the same :

Hex - 72 19 19 05
Dec - 114 25 25 5
ASCII - r

But it doesn't matter because the security sub-system is disabled on STUFF so the passwords will only work if you enable the security sub-system on stuff/vendor :)

ATA password is not what prevents the drives from working on the PC, at least on my sample (one drive from each model on the pool of the locked dvr pulled drives)
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

Moltke
Guest
Guest

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Moltke » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:10 am

Spildit wrote:The drives (3 old seagate prior to F3) had indeed a ATA password set and had indeed the same master password and different user passwords, but despite that the bit was set to "turn on" password, the security feature was disabled in stuff/vendor, so the ATA password was "disabled" like "inactive" because of that.

can look the answer ^U procedure changes vendor trk? before and after (or dump of track as the binary).
easy to change the Zocscript to parse this moment (like force)

fzabkar
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby fzabkar » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:27 am

Spildit wrote:The drives (3 old seagate prior to F3) had indeed a ATA password set and had indeed the same master password and different user passwords, but despite that the bit was set to "turn on" password, the security feature was disabled in stuff/vendor, so the ATA password was "disabled" like "inactive" because of that.

Isn't this just a DCO setting as was referred to earlier in this thread?

If so, couldn't you just use HDAT2 to edit the DCO in order to re-enable the Security Feature Set?

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:40 pm

shomyl wrote:okay, i am ready for remote session, and open for everyone :)



I want to try this as soon as possible with the Seagate F3 arch drive.
I'm almost certain that I can "unlock" it.
Drop me a note with the time that you will be available for skype.
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

User avatar
shomyl
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:44 pm
Location: Karachi - Pakistan

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby shomyl » Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:12 pm

Spildit wrote:I want to try this as soon as possible with the Seagate F3 arch drive.
I'm almost certain that I can "unlock" it.
Drop me a note with the time that you will be available for skype.


i am available any time.. just tell me your time..

and here is the Hitachi rom from the good drive and from the bad one too...
anyone can compare it, is there any thing in it that locks the drive..??
Attachments
rom.rar
Hitachi Z5K320-160 Rom.Bin
(194.46 KiB) Downloaded 115 times

User avatar
shomyl
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:44 pm
Location: Karachi - Pakistan

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby shomyl » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:30 pm

Spildit wrote:I want to try this as soon as possible with the Seagate F3 arch drive.
I'm almost certain that I can "unlock" it.
Drop me a note with the time that you will be available for skype.



no response..!!!

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:26 pm

shomyl wrote:
Spildit wrote:I want to try this as soon as possible with the Seagate F3 arch drive.
I'm almost certain that I can "unlock" it.
Drop me a note with the time that you will be available for skype.



no response..!!!


Little busy at the moment, sorry.
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:15 pm

shomyl wrote:
Spildit wrote:I want to try this as soon as possible with the Seagate F3 arch drive.
I'm almost certain that I can "unlock" it.
Drop me a note with the time that you will be available for skype.



no response..!!!


Sorry.

I've tested my "remote" method of unlocking and unfortunately it failed badly.

In other words, I can't unlock this drive by teamviewer by redirecting the COM port.

At this stage the only way that I have to unlock this sort of F3 arch drives (DVR locked - not just ATA password) is locally, by having the drive with me to use my hardware on it. Can't do it remotely and I doubt that I will invest any more effort on trying, as I've tested locally and have a method that is working fine, as long as I have the drive with me.
In other words, if anyone else wants to provide a solution, it's fine by me.

If not, the only way is for you to have someone with PC3K UDMA and some extra knowledge to have it unlocked.

You can ship the drive to me but you will have to pay for shipping costs, so I guess it's not feasible.

Regards and sorry once again.
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

hddman
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:37 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby hddman » Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:24 pm

hello
drives do not have a password
are locked

I greet

hddman
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:37 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby hddman » Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:33 pm

hi
Hitachi takes up to 10 minutes
and is unlocked
I would like to contact Moltke give him some valuable information
but not on the forum

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Mon May 12, 2014 9:54 pm

hddman wrote:hello
drives do not have a password
are locked

I greet


Yes, you are correct !
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Mon May 12, 2014 9:55 pm

hddman wrote:hi
Hitachi takes up to 10 minutes
and is unlocked
I would like to contact Moltke give him some valuable information
but not on the forum


You can try to PM him.
Regards.
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

ramtech
Banned User
Banned User
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 12:25 am

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby ramtech » Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:27 am

I THINK I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH SEAGATE PIPELINE 35" AND I THOUGHT SOFTWARE IS NOT SUPPORT FOR THAT SEAGATE....

sabeehk06
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:20 am

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby sabeehk06 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:46 am

Dear ALL:

i have seagate pipeline 2TB HDD.. Please tell me solution to disable PUIS. when i connect drive through SATA cable my PC wont boot up & its stuck on start-up with HDD light static. my drive wont spin at all however it shows capacity in drive management when i connected it through USB power. i heard HDAT2 will not work on USB connection but it show my drive also in HDD selection menu.


PLEASE HELPPPP !!! :(

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:00 pm

ramtech wrote:I THINK I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH SEAGATE PIPELINE 35" AND I THOUGHT SOFTWARE IS NOT SUPPORT FOR THAT SEAGATE....


On F3 arch drives :

- Remove PCB and insulate heads.
- Spin down, remove insulation and spin up, like in BSY solution.
- Remove password using STCom. Removing the password without preventing SA from loading will fail.
- Regen the translator with the correct command ( m0,6,3,,,,,22 ).
- Drive will be unlocked.

Regards.
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

User avatar
Spildit
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:59 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Spildit » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:09 pm

sabeehk06 wrote:Dear ALL:

i have seagate pipeline 2TB HDD.. Please tell me solution to disable PUIS. when i connect drive through SATA cable my PC wont boot up & its stuck on start-up with HDD light static. my drive wont spin at all however it shows capacity in drive management when i connected it through USB power. i heard HDAT2 will not work on USB connection but it show my drive also in HDD selection menu.


PLEASE HELPPPP !!! :(


You should be able to use Hitachi's Feature Tool to disable PUIS.

Try to connect the drive by SATA and use the /W switch on Hdat2 to wake up the drive. If it doesn't work try with another motherboard.

Are you sure the drive is working fine and the problem with it is just the PUIS ?
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)

Corehunter1
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 1:56 pm

Re: DVR PULLED

Postby Corehunter1 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:52 pm

Hi!

Any update on the initial Hitachi issue?
This might be the same problem that I am having with Hitachi Z5K320 and C5K500 with the same Elsil tunisia logo.
The drives show up fast and fine in HD Sentinel with 100% health but i cannot initialize or format them, i'm getting "data error cyclic redundancy check" each time. The drives pass the Hitachi feature tool smart test.
Idk if they are encrypted in some way or its a password/special lock set by the DVR.

Taking in consideration that I have over 50 drives in this situation, I would be willing to pay for a solution to make the drives usable.

Thank you!


Return to “Hitachi”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron